

This information is available free of charge in electronic, audio, Braille and large print versions, on request.

For assistance in understanding or reading this document or specific information about this Agenda or on the "Public Participation" initiative please call the Committee Team on 01629 761133 or email

committee@derbyshiredales.gov.uk

## **Community & Environment Committee**

Minutes of a Community & Environment Committee meeting held at 6.00 pm on Thursday, 8th June, 2023 in the Council Chamber, Town Hall, Matlock, DE4 3NN.

PRESENT Councillor Martin Burfoot - In the Chair

Councillors: Robert Archer, Anthony Bates, Matt Buckler, Peter Dobbs, Marilyn Franks, Gareth Gee, Susan Hobson, Andy Nash,

Peter O'Brien, Peter Slack and Steve Wain

Present as substitute – Councillor(s): Neil Buttle

James McLaughlin (Director of Corporate and Customer Services (Monitoring Officer)) and Tommy Shaw (Democratic Services Team

Leader)

#### Note:

"Opinions expressed or statements made by individual persons during the public participation part of a Council or committee meeting are not the opinions or statements of Derbyshire Dales District Council. These comments are made by individuals who have exercised the provisions of the Council's Constitution to address a specific meeting. The Council therefore accepts no liability for any defamatory remarks that are made during a meeting that are replicated on this document."

#### **APOLOGIES**

Apologies for absence were received from Councillor(s): Kelda Boothroyd, David Chapman and Dermot Murphy

#### 16/23 - PUBLIC PARTICIPATION

There was no public participation.

#### 17/23 - INTERESTS

There were no declarations of interest.

# 18/23 - APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO BIODIVERSITY SUB-COMMITTEE AND LOCAL PLAN SUB-COMMITTEE

The Director of Corporate and Customer Services introduced a report which sought Member approval to appoint those Members nominated to serve on the newly established subcommittees for Biodiversity and Derbyshire Dales Local Plan.

At the Annual Meeting on 25 May 2023 the Council agreed to establish two sub-committees under the remit of the Community and Environment Committee. In agreeing to establish these sub-committees, the Council agreed that the Biodiversity Sub-Committee would comprise of 6 Members and the Local Plan Sub-Committee would be made up of 10 Members, with seat entitlement on both reflecting the overall political make-up of the Council.

The following nominations had been received by the Proper Officer from political groups seeking to appoint to the Biodiversity Sub-Committee:

Councillors: Martin Burfoot, Roger Shelley, John Bointon, Stuart Lees, Peter Slack, Matt Buckler.

The following nominations had been received by the Proper Officer from political groups seeking to appoint to the Local Plan Sub-Committee:

Councillors: Rob Archer, Martin Burfoot, David Hughes, Roger Shelley, Nigel Edwards-Walker, Gareth Gee, Susan Hobson, Peter O'Brien, Lucy Peacock, Matt Buckler.

The recommendations as set out in the report were moved and seconded as detailed below:

- Recommendation 1 Moved by Councillor Susan Hobson, seconded by Councillor Peter Slack.
- Recommendation 2 Moved by Councillor Peter O'Brien, seconded by Councillor Steve Wain.
- Recommendation 3 Moved by Councillor Matt Buckler, seconded by Councillor Peter Slack.
- Recommendation 4 Moved by Councillor Peter O'Brien, seconded by Councillor Steve Wain.
- Recommendation 5 Moved by Councillor Steve Wain, seconded by Councillor Neil Buttle.

These were then put to the vote, and it was

### **RESOLVED** (unanimously)

- 1. That those councillors nominated by their respective political groups be appointed to serve on the Biodiversity Sub-Committee for the 2023-24 municipal year.
- 2. That those councillors nominated by their respective political groups be appointed to serve on the Local Plan Sub-Committee for the 2023-24 municipal year.
- 3. That the Terms of Reference for the Biodiversity Sub-Committee be approved.
- 4. That the Terms of Reference for the Local Plan Sub-Committee be approved.

5. That the Director of Corporate and Customer Services be authorised to set meeting dates and times for the sub-committees for the 2023-24 municipal year.

The Chair declared the motion **CARRIED**.

Meeting Closed: 6.15 pm

Chairman